top of page
Writer's pictureMacka

ART GANG MONEY by Swervy (스월비) an Article

Updated: Sep 8, 2021

ART GANG MONEY by Swervy (스월비) (select lyrics)---


“It’s good to be feeling yourself but don’t mess it up” …” The nature in this seems quite complicated to understand In the beginning, there was the art. The key to pulling everything together, to form a figure, and also ironically destroy them completely. Money, money. I mean who really has an artlike definition to this term? I just need that shit to buy new hoodies from Tokyo.”


“지금 태어났어도 짱 먹어, 고간지 욕하는 애들은 계속 나를 욕하지

상대해줄게, 난 반대편 like 오락실 친구 없잖아, you’re welcome, 고맙긴

보여주고 있지만 인정을 못 하지 보여줄 건 넘쳐나서 매일 골랐지

난 이미 담, 담 레벨 안에 속하지 방 안에서 제발 나와, 너만 몰랐지

좌우로 저어대는 고개거기에는 전혀 설득력이 없네아직도 몰라, 난, 이율, 스무고개 나랑 마”----" Even if you were born now, eat it, Koganji. Cursing kids keep cursing me. I'll deal with you, I'm on the other side like arcade

You don't have friends, you're welcome, thank you. I'm showing it but I can't admit it. I have so much to show you, I picked it every day

I'm already in the dam, I'm in the dam level. Please get out of the room, only you didn't know. head shaking left and right.There's no convincing

I still don't know, I, Yiyul, 20, don't go with me.”

*blame Google for any mistranslation*


These are lyrics from, well you already read the fucking title. I love this song for so many reasons, the hooks are catchy af, it has really sick production and instant catchiness, dope Korean nu-style flows but most importnantly I love its triple commentary, art, money, and the lack of integrity to the combination to the two. I’m specifically speaking of so called high, modern art, the last actually famous artists I can recall that made any sort of statement in modern years was Warhol.


IMO true art, art that actually makes a statement is all underground at this point. You find it occasionally on IG now, you find it on Soundcloud, or diving really fucking deep down on Spotify and true art, not good art, art with talent, but True Art, that which makes you really think, whatever form it comes in is rare as fuck.


There’s a difference between having talent and having talent with something to say and a vision.


What’s are the differences between an IG artist working on a $100 commission piece so they can afford rent and the splatter painting for 2 million in SOTHEBY’s?


1: The IG artist deserves way more recognition and a world they can live in where the price they charge is both somewhat equivalent income to the average purchaser and they can both afford nice lives. $250,000-400,000 a year (value at publication)


2: SOTHEBY’s $2mil splatter art: both the artist and the purchaser are shitheads, have tiny dicks and should give that money to harm reduction programs, foodbanks, planned parenthood, etc.


Emotional connection to the splatter painting? Find an artist on IG and give them 100k for it then donate the rest of what you would have spent on it to a place like those previously mentioned


DO NOT use it as a tax write off and maybe your micro-peen will grow.

~Mačka

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page